2020: The Year Of Change

Why 2020 is going to be the year of change.

There’s many reasons why I need 2020 to become the year of change. I haven’t had the best time lately and I feel I need something to focus on and make myself better. A better version of myself maybe?

September 2018
I lost my brother, not only did this cause so much distress at the time, it still causes sometimes daily upset for me and while I’m still trying to deal with it, it does seem like an endless battle with my own mind.

November 2019
I was involved in a car accident the day after Dan and I’s anniversary. We were on our way to two house viewings and then to spend the afternoon together celebrating our anniversary from the day before. But instead we spent the afternoon in A&E and sleeping.

January 2020
I’m 12 days into 2020 and I’m attacking myself with my own mind. My own overthinking, my own nervousness, my own lack of confidence. I had the best opportunity and became a Trainee Dental Nurse back in August 2019, and five months later when I should be feeling more confident than ever in a job (especially as I’m nearly out of my six months probation) I should be loving life, but I’m not. Every Sunday around 5pm I seem to begin overthinking, stressing and getting myself completely worked up for a Monday at work. I have absolutely no legit reason why this is happening because I can’t give reasons as to why I’m in this state, but I am. But as soon as a Monday at work is over, I’m fine for the rest of the week. It doesn’t make sense, I know.

So there’s the reason why I need 2020 to become the year of change. I’m not into New Years Resolutions as I never ever stick to them and feel that just because it’s a new year, it’s not a legitimate reason why I need to make a change to my life, this just happens to fall within January when I feel like I need to make a change.

I’ve decided that along with helping my overall health I need to also focus on my own mental health. I need to make time for myself, whether it may be just reading a book, going for a walk or even giving meditation a go, I need to always schedule in time for myself. So here’s a list of things I wish to do but not doing to put the pressure on myself to do so as I know adding more pressure to myself won’t help.

  1. Eat healthier
  2. Drink more water
  3. Do more exercise (even if it’s a walk)
  4. Spend more time with those who love me
  5. Dance

And most importantly

6. Always have enough sleep.

Here’s to a healthier, happier new year, and one for change, motivation and focus.

583b2f8f4e24a4e7b89beecb6d6c6647

Leave a comment